The Devils Lake Basin Joint Water Resource Board


An Annual Award Presented By The Devils Lake Basin Joint Water Resource Board

Past Water Stewardship Awards

Award Criteria

2019 Award WInner - Devils Lake Access Committee - NEWS RELEASE - L-R Duaine Ash, Jeff Frith, Mike Tweed, Dave Sateren, Albin Jallo and Devils Lake Mayor Richard Johnson. 

2018 Award winner Nelson County Water Resource District members L - R:  Mike Donohue, Todd Whitman, David Sateren, Ben Varnson and Charlene Varnson. 


2014 Award Winner: L - R Jeff Frith - Joint Board Manager, Huck Kruger Award Winner & Duaine Ash - Joint Board Member

Board Creates Award - Devils Lake Journal

In 2004 the Devils Lake Joint Water Resource Board will hand out its first Devils Lake Basin Water Stewardship award. Last week the Joint Board held its regular monthly meeting in Bismarck as part of the North Dakota Water Convention. According to Mike Connor, Devils Lake Basin Manager, it was decided at that time to move forward with the award. "I think it's something that's pretty exciting," Connor said. "It will be given to t he individual or group which most helps the basin through proper management of resources." The description of the award winner includes, "Presented to an individual, group or organization who have contributed to assisting with the implementation of the Board's mission statement, 'development of a comprehensive, coordinated, water management plan for the Devils Lake Basin that will protect the economic and biological values of the Devils Lake Basin while providing optimum benefits for agriculture, wildlife, and fisheries, recreation and economic development for its citizens.'"

The award will first be presented in 2004 at the Lake Region Extension Roundup. "There was some discussion on where the award would be presented. There was some talk of giving it at the North Dakota Water Convention, but the board decided they wanted to do the presentation locally at the Roundup," Connor says. Nominations for the award may be made by any individual, organization, or governmental body from any of the nine counties, Spirit Lake Nation, or Turtle Mountain reservations that comprise the Devils Lake basin. Applications are available from any Joint Board member or the Joint Basin Office in the Ramsey County Courthouse. Nominations must be received by the Joint Basin Office by Nov 1 of each year.

"Nominees must have demonstrated a commitment to improving the quality of life for the Devils Lake Basin community through their efforts to improve land and water stewardship in the basin," the criteria states.



© 2017 Devils Lake Basin Joint Water Resource Board - All Rights Reserved